A Disney Classic

Pastor likes Disney World. It is one of his family’s favorite vacation spots. He is confused, however, because Christ’s likeness is not Disneyworld-likeness.

Yes we all love happy endings. And pastor promises us a happy ending if we obey him. We are like sleep walkers in a dream. Singing a song.

I know you, I walked with you once upon a dream
I know you, that look in your eyes is so familiar a gleam
And I know it’s true that visions are seldom all they seem
But if I know you, I know what you’ll do
You’ll love me at once, the way you did once upon a dream

And we are singing it to our pastor — how terribly sad. It is only a dream.

But God says, “But let him that glorieth glory in this, that he understandeth and knoweth me, that I am the Lord which exercise lovingkindness, judgment, and righteousness, in the earth: for in these things I delight, saith the Lord” Jeremiah 9:24). “For I know that my redeemer liveth, and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth” (Job 19:25). “Hast thou not known? Hast thou not heard, that the everlasting God, the Lord, the Creator of the ends of the earth, fainteth not, neither is weary? There is no searching of his understanding” (Isaiah 40:28).

(For other references see Matthew 13:15-16)

Author: landonmatthews

"Son of man, I have appointed you as a watchman for Israel. Whenever you receive a message from me, warn people immediately. If I warn the wicked, saying, ‘You are under the penalty of death,’ but you fail to deliver the warning, they will die in their sins. And I will hold you responsible for their deaths." Ezekiel 3:17-18 NLT

Leave a Reply

