C’mon Babe, Follow Me

So instead of our annual young adult retreat, we are canvassing the local college campuses for new converts. We are denying ourselves, taking up our cross and following Jesus. God and kids need proof of our devotion. Witnessing plus no-show during class equals Holier Christian. (Have you applied that formula to paying your, say… car insurance bills Pastor? And trust God no one comes to slit the tires? You never did tell that story right, btw.)

Mature Christians shake heads at us and pass on by. We keep jumping through hoops. Eventually attracting the attention of the innocent, awed by such extravagance. College kids are easy prey. They are always looking for a cause to live and die for. I have noticed though, Pastor, you don’t seem able to gather in the hard-working grown up type anymore. Despite the catchy song. Adults have probably read the end of the fable, right? It sure wasn’t a happy ending. Kind of like us, ya think?

But God says, “See that none render evil for evil unto any man; but ever follow that which is good, both among yourselves, and to all men” (1 Thessalonians 5:15). “Follow peace with all men, and holiness, without which no man shall see the Lord” (Hebrews 12:14). “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart:and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).

Author: landonmatthews

"Son of man, I have appointed you as a watchman for Israel. Whenever you receive a message from me, warn people immediately. If I warn the wicked, saying, ‘You are under the penalty of death,’ but you fail to deliver the warning, they will die in their sins. And I will hold you responsible for their deaths." Ezekiel 3:17-18 NLT

Leave a Reply

